Welcome to the Texas Board of Nursing


COVID-19 Nurse Licensing

Please see below for information regarding approved waivers, BON procedures amended during the COVID-19 pandemic, and potential extensions for application requirements.

PREP Act Vaccine Administration: Frequently Asked Questions - March 25, 2021

Licensure Renewal Waiver to Expire September 30, 2020 - 9/2/20

Governor Abbott Waives Regulations to Allow LVNs, RNs, & APRNs a 6-month Grace Period for Licensure Renewal - 3/23/20

Information for Employers Regarding the Licensure Waiver During the COVID-19 Disaster

COVID-19 Disaster Licensing for Out-of-State Nurses - 3/14/20 (updated 6/9/20)

Examination Applicants

Endorsements Applicants

Renewal Applicants

Examination Applicants

BON staff are working as quickly as possible to review Examination applications.

GN/GVN Permits

Applicants must still meet all necessary requirements to be eligible for a GN/GVN permit:

·       Have a complete NCLEX Application on file and have been issued an ATT

·       Have not been issued stipulations in relation to an eligibility issue

·       Have not previously failed the NCLEX (for Texas or another jurisdiction)

GN/GVN permits will be extended for 6 months.

GN/GVN permits will be extended for applicants who have already been issued a permit AND have not taken the NCLEX.

GN/GVN permits issued after 3/21/2020 will be issued for 6 months.

Internationally educated nurses are not eligible for a GN/GVN permit.

Endorsement Applicants

BON staff are working as quickly as possible to review new Endorsement applications and issue temporary licenses and/or permanent licenses.

At this time, temporary licenses are not being extended and are valid for 120 days from date of issuance. Due to the fluid nature of the situation, any updates or changes will be posted here.


Nurses with INACTIVE, RETIRED, or DELINQUENT Texas licenses who would like to assist with the COVID-19 pandemic: create an account through the Texas Nurse Portal . After you have successfully created your account, scroll down to the last section labeled "Other Applications," and submit the appropriate Renewal or Reactivation Application with the appropriate fee ($45 for LVNs, $68 for RNs). Please allow up to ten (10) business days for processing.

The following items are waived and do not need to be completed: the additional reactivation fee, CE requirement, Refresher Course requirement, and Jurisprudence Exam requirement.